Back by semi-popular demand…

Hello again! I’ve missed you! How have you been, and what is new in your life?

I (obviously) haven’t been blogging for the past few weeks, but I promise I have two semi-valid excuses. Reason 1) The extra time that I was using to blog just disappeared into thin air, partially because Michael was wrapped up in finals essays and homework on our home computer (a busted up laptop). Reason 2) I didn’t really think that people were enjoying (read: even reading) the blog, so I didn’t think it would be a big deal when I stopped, and it wasn’t to 99.9% of the population. But that 0.1% has begged me for more stories about My Dog Cooper (read: casually mentioned that they read the blog once).

To make a long story short, I’m back and I have a ton of new pictures and new anecdotes about My Dog Cooper. This Workout Wednesday, I’ll give race updates about Ski to Sea (we didn’t get last place!) and North Olympic Discovery Half Marathon (I almost threw up Gu!). But today, I’ll just ease us all back in to what is comfortable, and try to help you fully grasp why Michael and I can’t have nice things.

This. This is why we can't have nice things.

This. This is why we can’t have nice things.


It’s not that we would want/can afford really nice things to begin with, but it’s just impossible to keep nice things nice when you have a 90lb clumsy puppy dog. His tail has knocked over water glasses onto new books. His shoulders have knocked over children at the dog park. We can not go into stores with fragile items because he will quite literally be the american bulldog mix in a china shop. Our hardwood floor has dents in it in front of both couches because he has dropped his bone off the side more times than we can count. We can only keep a mini Christmas tree, and it has to be on a coffee table so that he doesn’t fell a nine foot evergreen in our home. He gets grass stains on his legs when we play fetch because he tumbles so much. Klutz…

Mom, what are you talking about? I'm smooooth!

Mom, what are you talking about? I’m smooooth!

He is also filthy. I am not the kind of person who is obsessive about cleaning usually… I do go through these phases where I feel like I need to prepare for a QASA audit… do you feel me Starbucks retail partners? But I’m tidy enough. I (usually) clean my dishes and put them in the best Christmas present when I’m finished eating.

Portable dishwasher c/o S. Clause

Portable dishwasher c/o S. Clause

Cooper on the other hand, is not. His big old droopy bulldog lips hold at least half of the water that he drinks and drips it everywhere from the floor to the couches to the ottoman that he likes to rest his little head on. His food explodes out of the bowl when he feasts, but luckily he picks that up himself.

When Cooper comes in from the rain, we will sometimes towel him off because we don’t want everything in our house smelling like a wet dog. (Ha! Suckers! Everything already smells like a dry dog!) Most of the time though, we don’t wipe him down, especially if it’s not actively raining outside. This leads to my absolute least favorite part of our home.

WP_20130620_006

Dirty doggie footprints on the hardwood floor. Ugh. This particular incident happened literally minutes after I had swept and Swiffered. Sad days right? Wrong. It is absolutely worth having a happy, curious, playful dog like Cooper. Just keep your shoes on in our house.

Leave a Reply

